XIII Spring Salon “For lands of Castilla La Mancha”, in the Municipal Museum of Valdepeñas

The Municipal Museum of Valdepeñas hosts from June 7 to 30, 2019, the 13th edition of the Spring Show “For Lands of Castilla-La Mancha”, for which a total of 49 works have been selected from over a hundred of those submitted to the contest organized by the Spanish Association of Painters and Sculptors.

The inauguration ceremony was attended by the President of the Spanish Association of Painters and Sculptors, José Gabriel Astudillo, the Vice President of the entity, Juan Manuel López-Reina, as well as the Secretary General of the AEPE, Mª Dolores Barreda Pérez and various members of the Board of Directors, such as Alicia Sánchez Carmona and Treasurer Ana Martínez Córdoba, as well as the Delegate of Valdepeñas and Ciudad Real, Enrique Pedrero and the municipal authorities.

At the opening ceremony, the jury minutes and the awards ceremony were read. The Jury was formed by Juan Manuel López-Reina, Vice President of the AEPE and Mª Dolores Barreda Pérez, Secretary General of the AEPE, acting as President and Secretary of the Jury, respectively, both with voice and without vote, and as Members of the Jury , Fernando de Marta Sebastián and Ana Martínez Córdoba both directors of the AEPE, and the painter and randomly chosen partner Miguel Ortiz Valderrama.

According to José Gabriel Astudillo, President of the Spanish Association of Painters and Sculptors, the interest of the Board of Directors that presides over supporting this Valdepeñas Spring Show “For the lands of Castilla La Mancha”, led two years ago to the express creation of the awards, the José Moreno Carbonero Painting Medal and the Lorenzo and Federico Coullaut Valera Sculpture Medal, both founding partners and outstanding artists who are honored in this way, as well as the Honorable Mentions that the Jury considered appropriate.


“Melibea”, by Vicente Moya

“Remanso” by Jorge Yunta


The work entitled “Melibea”, by Vicente Moya, has been awarded the José Moreno Carbonero Painting Medal, while the work of Jorge Yunta, whose title is “Remanso”, has won the Lorenzo and Federico Coullaut Valera Sculpture Medal. In addition, the Jury awarded Honorable Mentions to the works of Concha Muñoz, Leodegario and Teresa Romero.


Concha Muñoz. “Desde el Lucio del Membrillo” 

Leodegario. “El espejo destruye la eterna juventud”


Teresa Romero. “A las seis”


The president of the AEPE, José Gabriel Astudillo, congratulated the City Council of Valdepeñas “who is firmly and decisively committed to current art and above all to support the Association and make possible the realization of this event in a land that should have the distinction of “Protected Artistic Denomination”.

The artists selected on this occasion from among more than a hundred works submitted to the contest, to integrate the exhibition of the XIII Spring Salon, are: Jeannette Alfau – Carolina Aranda – Juan Carlos Atroche – Carmen Bonilla – Martina Cantero – Jesus Chapel Roldán – Paloma Casado – José Manuel Chamorro – Sopetrán Domènech – Jesús Dougnac – Magdalena Spain – Carmelo Esteban – Sara Fernández Giménez (Sara Ruano) – José Luis Fiol – M. Herminda Gago Blanco – Ángeles García-Quismondo – Rafael Gómez Mena (Mena) – Martha Lucila Gómez – Eva González – Teiji Ishizuka – Antonio Izquierdo – Enrique López Sardón – Carlos Losa – María R. Maluenda – José Luis Martín de Blas – Teresa Martín Sánchez de Rojas – Isabel Monfort Siso – Laura Moret – Vicente Moya – Miguel Muñoz Gómez -Platero (Platero) – Concha Muñoz – Pilar Navamuel – Julio Nuez – Enrique Pedrero Muñoz – Fernando Peña Corchado (Leodegario) – Esther Pérez Hernando – Jesús Pérez Hornero – Mª Teresa Pérez Romero (Teresa Romero) – Juan Fco. Pérez Somalo – Samuel Pires Antunez Rodrigues (Samuel Rodrigues) – Pura Ramos – Jorge Rodríguez Fernández (Jorge Yunta) – Pilar Sagarra – Felipe San Pedro – Cristina Sánchez Estévez – Arturo Tejero – Antonio Téllez de Peralta – José Valladares Moreno – Pilar Vich

The exhibition shows the latest works of more than forty artists, most of them belonging to the Spanish Association of Painters and Sculptors, who have been finding a prominent place in Spanish contemporary art. Each of them represents different generations, but united under the common denominator of contemporary language that moves between figuration, abstraction and the avant-garde.

More information on the website of the Spanish Association of Painters and Sculptors, www.apintoresyescultores.es “Awards and prizes” tab, sub-window “Spring Salon of Valdepeñas”, where you can also see the digital catalog edited for that reason.